The Louisiana Association of Teachers of Mathematics is an educational organization dedicated to the promotion of excellence in the teaching and learning of mathematics in Louisiana's schools, to assist other organizations in promoting interest in mathematics in Louisiana, and to collaborate with other organizations of teachers of mathematics.

Applications for Travel Grants

LATM is offering ten $300 travel grants for the 2014 LATM/LSTA Joint Math and Science Conference in Shreveport, October 20-22, 2014. Information about these grants can be found on the LATM Travel Grants page.

LATM Open Letter to Gov. Jindal

in Support of Common Core and PARCC

Common Core Support

                      LATM/LSTA Joint Conference

2014 Pre-Conference Mailout Now Available 
Register for the 2014 LATM/LSTA Joint Conference

Concurrent (1-Hour) Session Proposals
Being Accepted until 8/15
Concurrent sessions are scheduled to be held on TUESDAY and WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 21st and 22nd, 2014. This form should be completed by an individual submitting a proposal to deliver a 1-hour concurrent session to be held on TUESDAY and WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 21st and 22nd, 2014. The conference program allows for each CONCURRENT SESSION to have a maximum of 3 names listed as the presenters: the Lead Presenter followed by at most two Co-Presenters. Proposals must be submitted via this online form by August 15, 2014. Less than 10 days left! 
If there are any concerns or questions about this process, please contact Mandy Boudwin,


Great Opportunity for K-12 Public School

Math and Science Teachers!

 Apply now for Quality Science and Math Grants

Deadline September 12, 2014

Looking for a way to purchase math and science classroom materials? Are you in need of funding to support equipment for your great ideas? Wish you could implement some ideas seen during last year’s conferences or professional development training? The answer might be waiting for you through the Quality Math and Science Grant Program.

 The Quality Science & Mathematics Grant Program (QSM) was established by R.S. 17:371-1 of the Louisiana Legislature in the summer of 1992 for the purpose of providing grants to mathematics and science public school teachers for the purchase of materials and equipment. The QSM program administered by the Gordon Cain STEM Center at LSU ( has approximately $162,000 in funds to award grants to eligible classroom teachers for the 2014-15 school year. Grants of up to $750 each for approved materials and equipment are awarded on a competitive basis to individual classroom teachers to use in providing standards-based instruction to help meet state accountability goals. Applicants must show that their proposals will enhance the quality of instruction for regular education students who are enrolled in mathematics or science classes. Proposal must be submitted no later than Friday, September 12, 2014.

**NOTE: Only full-time classroom teachers assigned to teach mathematics or science in the K-12 regular education program in public schools are eligible to submit proposals. Go to for the full guidelines and regulations.


Save the Date!

LATM LSTA 2014 Joint Conference

Concurrent (1-Hour) Session Proposals now being accepted.

Presidential Award for Excellence
in Mathematics and Science Teaching

Congratulations to our newest
2012 Awardee
for the state of Louisiana in Mathematics

Donna Lamonte
LSU's Laboratory School

For More Information Visit


 2008 LATM - All images on this site are the property of
LATM and may not be used without written permission from LATM.

If you have questions or comments about our site, please contact the Webmaster